Sign In

Communications of the ACM

ACM A.M. Turing Award nominations solicited

ACM A.M. Turing Award Nominations Solicited

Nominations are invited for the 2007 A.M. Turing Award. ACM's oldest and most prestigious award is presented for contributions of a technical nature to the computing community. Although the long-term influences of the nominee's work are taken into consideration, there should be a particular outstanding and trendsetting achievement for technical contributions, which constitutes the principal claim to the award. The award carries a prize of $100,000 and the recipient is expected to present an address that is published in an ACM journal. Financial support of the Turing Award is provided by the Intel Corporation.

Nominations should include:

  1. A curriculum vitae, listing publications, patents, honors, other awards, and so on.
  2. A letter from the principal nominator, which describes the work of the nominee, and draws particular attention to the contribution that is seen as meriting the award.
  3. Supporting letters from three other nominators. The letters should not all be from colleagues or co-workers who are closely associated with the nominee, and preferably should come from individuals at more than one organization.

For additional information on ACM's award program please visit:

Nominations should be sent, in duplicate, by Oct. 31, 2007, to: Maria Klawe, President, Harvey Mudd College, Kingston Hall, Room 201, 301 Platt Boulevard, Claremont, CA 91711-5990;

Back to Top

Previous A.M. Turing Award Recipients

1966     A.J. Perlis
1967     Maurice Wilkes
1968     R.W. Hamming
1969     Marvin Minsky
1970     J.H. Wilkinson
1971     John McCarthy
1972     E.W. Dijkstra
1973     Charles Bachman
1974     Donald Knuth
1975     Allen Newell
1975     Herbert Simon
1976     Michael Rabin
1976     Dana Scott
1977     John Backus
1978     Robert Floyd
1979     Kenneth Iverson
1980     C.A.R. Hoare
1981     Edgar Codd
1982     Stephen Cook
1983     Ken Thompson
1983     Dennis Ritchie
1984     Niklaus Wirth
1985     Richard Karp
1986     John Hopcroft
1986     Robert Tarjan
1987     John Cocke
1988     Ivan Sutherland
1989     William Kahan
1990     Fernando Corbató
1991     Robin Milner
1992     Butler Lampson
1993     Juris Hartmanis
1993     Richard Stearns
1994     Edward Feigenbaum
1994     Raj Reddy
1995     Manuel Blum
1996     Amir Pnueli
1997     Douglas Engelbart
1998     James Gray
1999     Frederick Brooks
2000     Andrew Yao
2001     Ole-Johan Dahl
2001     Kristen Nygaard
2002     Leonard Adleman
2002     Ronald Rivest
2002     Adi Shamir
2003     Alan Kay
2004     Vinton Cerf
2004     Robert Kahn
2005     Peter Naur

©2007 ACM  0001-0782/07/0300  $5.00

Permission to make digital or hard copies of all or part of this work for personal or classroom use is granted without fee provided that copies are not made or distributed for profit or commercial advantage and that copies bear this notice and the full citation on the first page. To copy otherwise, to republish, to post on servers or to redistribute to lists, requires prior specific permission and/or a fee.

The Digital Library is published by the Association for Computing Machinery. Copyright © 2007 ACM, Inc.


No entries found

Sign In for Full Access
» Forgot Password? » Create an ACM Web Account
Article Contents: