Sign In

Communications of the ACM


What It Means to Receive the Turing Award

ACM A.M. Turing Award recipients

Turing laureates at the ACM press conference (front row, from left): Silvio Micali (2012), Michael O. Rabin (1976), Edmund M. Clarke (2007). Back row, from left: Joseph Sifakis (2007), Barbara Liskov (2008), Butler W. Lampson (1992), Robert Tarjan (1986).

Credit: Jason Gardner

ACM held a press conference on Nov. 13, 2014 to announce Google's $1 million funding of the ACM A.M. Turing Award (see p. 31). In attendance were seven Turing laureates: Michael Rabin, Robert Tarjan, Butler Lampson, Edmund Clarke, Joseph Sifakis, Barbara Liskov, and Silvio Micali. At the event, Micali was asked to share what it means to receive the Turing Award. Here are his comments.

I'll be brief.


No entries found

Log in to Read the Full Article

Sign In

Sign in using your ACM Web Account username and password to access premium content if you are an ACM member, Communications subscriber or Digital Library subscriber.

Need Access?

Please select one of the options below for access to premium content and features.

Create a Web Account

If you are already an ACM member, Communications subscriber, or Digital Library subscriber, please set up a web account to access premium content on this site.

Join the ACM

Become a member to take full advantage of ACM's outstanding computing information resources, networking opportunities, and other benefits.

Subscribe to Communications of the ACM Magazine

Get full access to 50+ years of CACM content and receive the print version of the magazine monthly.

Purchase the Article

Non-members can purchase this article or a copy of the magazine in which it appears.
Sign In for Full Access
» Forgot Password? » Create an ACM Web Account