Sign In

Communications of the ACM

Communications of the ACM

ACM's 2016 General Election

ballot box


ACM Nominating Committee Report Nominees for the 2016 General Election

In accordance with the Constitution and Bylaws of the ACM, the Nominating Committee hereby submits the following slate of nominees for ACM's officers. In addition to the officers of the ACM, five Members at Large will be elected. The names of the candidates for each office are presented in random order below:

President (1 July 2016 – 30 June 2018):

Vicki L. Hanson, Rochester Institute of Technology and University of Dundee
Erik Altman, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center

Vice President (1 July 2016 – 30 June 2018):

Fabrizio Gagliardi, Polytechnic University of Catalonia
Cherri Pancake, Oregon State University

Secretary/Treasurer (1 July 2016 – 30 June 2018):

Craig Partridge, Raytheon BBN Technologies
Elizabeth Churchill, Google

Members at Large (1 July 2016 – 30 June 2020):

Susan Dumais, Microsoft Research
Eugene H. Spafford, Purdue University
Gabriele Anderst-Kostis, Johannes Kepler University
Pam Samuelson, University of California, Berkeley, School of Law
Elizabeth Mynatt, Georgia Tech
Manindra Agrawal, IIT, Kanpur
Yunhao Liu, Tsinghua University
Paul Spirakis, University of Liverpool
Asu Ozdaglar, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Judith Gal-Ezer, The Open University of Israel

The Constitution and Bylaws provide that candidates for elected offices of the ACM may also be nominated by petition of one percent of the Members who as of 1st November are eligible to vote for the nominee. Such petitions must be accompanied by a written declaration that the nominee is willing to stand for election. The number of Member signatures required for the offices of President, Vice President, Secretary/Treasurer and Members at Large, is 729.

The Bylaws provide that such petitions must reach the Elections Committee before 31st of January. Original petitions for ACM offices are to be submitted to the ACM Elections Committee, c/o Pat Ryan, COO, ACM Headquarters, 2 Penn Plaza, Suite 701, New York, NY 10121, USA, by 31 January 2016. Duplicate copies of the petitions should also be sent to the Chair of the Elections Committee, Gerry Segal, c/o ACM Headquarters. All candidates nominated by petition are reminded of the requirements stated in the Policy and Procedures on Nominations and Elections that a candidate for high office must meet in order to serve with distinction. This document is available on, or copies may be obtained from Rosemary McGuinness, Office of Policy and Administration, ACM Headquarters. Statements and biographical sketches of all candidates will appear in the May 2016 issue of Communications.

The Nominating Committee would like to thank all those who helped us with their suggestions and advice.

Vinton G. Cerf, CHAIR,
Michel Beaudouin-Lafon, Jennifer Chayes, PJ Narayanan, and Doug Terry

Back to Top

©2016 ACM  0001-0782/16/01

Permission to make digital or hard copies of part or all of this work for personal or classroom use is granted without fee provided that copies are not made or distributed for profit or commercial advantage and that copies bear this notice and full citation on the first page. Copyright for components of this work owned by others than ACM must be honored. Abstracting with credit is permitted. To copy otherwise, to republish, to post on servers, or to redistribute to lists, requires prior specific permission and/or fee. Request permission to publish from or fax (212) 869-0481.

The Digital Library is published by the Association for Computing Machinery. Copyright © 2016 ACM, Inc.


No entries found

Sign In for Full Access
» Forgot Password? » Create an ACM Web Account
Article Contents: