Sign In

Communications of the ACM

ACM TechNews

ACM Honors Computing Innovators for Advances in Research, Education, Industry

View as: Print Mobile App Share:

ACM has named leading innovators to receive three prestigious awards for their contributions to research, education, and industry.

ThreatSTOP chief scientist Paul Mockapetris was named to receive the ACM Software System Award for developing the Domain Name System's core components in 1983.

Princeton University's Noga Alon, Carnegie Mellon University's Phillip Gibbons, Google's Yossi Matias, and Rutgers University's Mario Szegedy are to receive the ACM Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award for their pioneering framework for algorithmic treatment of streaming massive datasets.

Finally, ACM named Rice University's Lydia E. Kavraki and Stanford University's Daphne Koller to receive the ACM-AAAI Allen Newell Award. Kavraki was cited for her achievements in robotic motion planning, while Koller was recognized for foundational contributions to machine learning and probabilistic models, the application of those techniques to biology and human health, and her contributions to democratizing education.

From ACM
View Full Article


Abstracts Copyright © 2020 SmithBucklin, Washington, DC, USA


No entries found

Sign In for Full Access
» Forgot Password? » Create an ACM Web Account