Sign In

Communications of the ACM

ACM TechNews

ACM Recognizes Far-Reaching Technical Achievements with Special Awards

View as: Print Mobile App Share:
The ACM logo.

ACM has announced the recipients of four prestigious technical awards. These leaders were selected by their peers for making contributions that extend the boundaries of research, advance industry, and lay the foundation for technologies that transform soc

Credit: ACM

ACM has named the recipients of four awards, chosen by peers for technical achievements that advance research and industry, and which create a basis for transformative technologies.

The University of Washington's Shyamnath Gollakota will receive the 2020 ACM Grace Murray Hopper Award for developing novel wireless-signal applications, including wireless video streaming via sensors and controllers affixed to insects.

Meanwhile, a team of American and Israeli scientists will receive the ACM Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award for their discovery and analysis of the Balanced Allocations framework, or the power of two choices paradigm, which yielded numerous computing applications.

The creators of Berkeley DB, the first production-quality commercial key/value store, were named to receive the ACM Software System Award.

Finally, Hector Levesque at Canada's University of Toronto and Rice University's Moshe Vardi will receive the ACM-AAAI Allen Newell Award for their contributions to knowledge theory, software and hardware verification, and logic-inspired artificial intelligence.

From ACM
View Full Article


Abstracts Copyright © 2021 SmithBucklin, Washington, DC, USA


No entries found