Sign In

Communications of the ACM


Katayanagi Prizes and Other CS Awards

Katayanagi Prize winner Donald E. Knuth

Donald E. Knuth, winner of the Katayanagi Prize for Research Excellence.

Credit: Hector Garcia-Molina

Donald E. Knuth, Jon Kleinberg, Andrew Herbert, and other members of the computer science community were recently honored for their innovative research and service.

Back to Top

Katayanagi Prizes in Computer Science

Donald E. Knuth, who has made fundamental contributions in theoretical computer science and is the author of the seminal multi-volume The Art of Computer Programming, and Jon Kleinberg, a computer scientist whose work explores the interface between networks and information, were awarded the Katayanagi Prizes in Computer Science.

Knuth, an emeritus professor at Stanford University and recipient of the 1974 ACM A.M. Turing Award, received the 2009 Katayanagi Prize for Research Excellence, which recognizes an established researcher with a record of outstanding, sustained achievement. Kleinberg, the Tisch University Professor of Computer Science at Cornell University, received the 2009 Katayanagi Emerging Leadership Prize, which honors a researcher who demonstrates the promise of becoming a leader in the field.

The prizes are presented annually by Carnegie Mellon University in cooperation with the Tokyo University of Technology (TUT). The prizes are endowed with a gift from Japanese entrepreneur and education advocate Koh Katayanagi, who founded TUT and several other technical institutions in Japan.

Back to Top

Order of the British Empire

Microsoft Research Cambridge Managing Director Andrew Herbert was appointed Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) by Queen Elizabeth II for services to computer science. The appointment was announced by Buckingham Palace as part of the 2010 New Year Honours list. A Microsoft Distinguished Engineer, Herbert has worked in the computer science field for 35 years, conducting research into computer networking, operating systems, and distributed computing. He is the fifth Microsoft employee to be honored by the OBE, in addition to Bill Gates, Tony Hoare, Tony Hey, and Roger Needham.

Back to Top

AAAS Fellows

The American Association for the Advancement of Science recognized 14 individuals as Fellows, in the Section on Information, Computing, and Communication, for their contributions to science and technology. They are: Marc Auslander, IBM Watson Research Center; Richard G. Baraniuk, Rice University; Alok Choudhary, Northwestern University; Narsingh Deo, University of Central Florida; James A. Gosling, Sun Microsystems; Anthony J.G. Hey, Microsoft Corporation; Eric Horvitz, Microsoft Corporation; Henry C. Kelly, U.S. Department of Energy; Thomas F. Knight, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; David B. Lomet, Microsoft Corporation; Keshav K. Pingali, University of Texas, Austin; Sanguthevar Rajasekaran, University of Connecticut; Jeffrey S. Vitter, Texas A&M University; and Ouri Wolfson, University of Illinois, Chicago.

Back to Top

ISSA Distinguished Fellows

Information Systems Security Association honored 22 individuals as Distinguished Fellows, the association's highest tribute. They are: Mary Ann Davidson, Dorothy Denning, Donald Evans, Susan Hansche, Steve Hunt, Sandra Lambert, Richard Mosher, William Hugh Murray, Lynn McNulty, Alan Paller, George Proeller, Marcus Ranum, Ron Ross, Howard A. Schmidt, Bruce Schneier, Eugene Schultz, Sanford Sherizen, Eugene Spafford, Harold Tipton, William Tompkins, Roy Wilkinson, and Ira Winkler.

Back to Top

IEEE Awards

The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Computer Society honored Michael T. Heath, the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign's Fulton Watson Copp Chair in computer science, with the 2009 Taylor L. Booth Education Award for his "contributions to computational science and engineering education, curriculum, and scholarship."

IEEE Computer Society also honored Judy Robertson, senior lecturer in computer science at Heriot-Watt University (and a blogger for Communications' Web site), with the 2009 Computer Science and Engineering Undergrad Teaching Award for her "outstanding contributions to the undergraduate education through teaching and the innovative use of pioneering technologies in teaching."

Back to Top



Back to Top


UF1Figure. Donald E. Knuth, winner of the Katayanagi Prize for Research Excellence.

Back to top

©2010 ACM  0001-0782/10/0300  $10.00

Permission to make digital or hard copies of all or part of this work for personal or classroom use is granted without fee provided that copies are not made or distributed for profit or commercial advantage and that copies bear this notice and the full citation on the first page. To copy otherwise, to republish, to post on servers or to redistribute to lists, requires prior specific permission and/or a fee.

The Digital Library is published by the Association for Computing Machinery. Copyright © 2010 ACM, Inc.


No entries found